News & Events

മാപ്ര Inaugurated - Association of Journalism and Mass Communication

Reported on: 2023-12-21

The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, Farook College (Autonomous), conducted a talk session on “The Journey of a Photojournalist” as a part of the students' association's inauguration, "മാപ്ര”. The title was revealed by the esteemed chief guest, Leen Thobias, a renowned photojournalist, on December 21, 2023, at 11 a.m. in the MMI Hall, Farook Training College, Kozhikode. The stage was also graced with the vice principal of Farook College (Autonomous), Dr. Sajith EK, and the director of the self-financing division, Dr. Yousuf Ali P.P.

The talk session began closely following the welcome speech by Leen Thobias. He annotated various instances in his own life to give the students a vague idea of how a journalist, or specifically a photographer, gets through in the industry. He spoke of the significance of a camera and how far the eye behind the lens gets from the picture. The aim of the programme was to understand the work sphere of a photojournalist, especially with such a profession that is trying terms on an international scale. Faculty members and students from the department of multimedia also attended the session, along with the department of JMC. 

After the inaugural session, the event moved on to honour two of the alumnus of the department, Ashkar and Rasheed Mongam for their exceptional service in the field of journalism. They were honoured by the respectable Director, Dr. Yousuf Ali P.P. The Head of the department, Mrs. Maureen TP honoured the Union General Captain Shuhaib Kuruniyan.

The inaugural session began with the welcome address by Ayisha Haneena, Association Secretary, Department of JMC; the presidential address was delivered by Dr. Sajith EK, Vice Principal, Farook College (Autonomous); and felicitations by Ayisha Wafa (Chairperson) and Junaid (General Secretary). Shuhaib Kuruniyan, General Captain, Department of J&MC, proposed the vote of thanks for the programme. The head of the department, Mrs. Maureen TP, and other faculties, Mrs. Aparna P, and Mr. Muhammed Sahal, are actively involved in making the programme a huge success.