KERALA PHYSICS CONGRESS 2023

11 &12 NOVEMBER 2023 FAROOK COLLEGE- KOZHIKODE



Organized by Association of Physics Teachers-Kozhikode in collaboration with Farook College at Farook College-Kozhikode

Organisers



Higher Education has progressively evolved over the years, and Farook college has lived up to its mission of producing competent individuals capable of meeting challenges in line with the growing needs of the society. Our college endeavours to build a learning community that strives for excellence in the moral, spiritual, intellectual and physical spheres of the individuals. It caters to the needs of more than 3500 students, with 22 undergraduate, one integrated and 15 post graduate programmes. Eleven of the PG departments are recognized Research Centres

Association of Physics Teachers (APT) was established in the year 1996 with the aim of upgrading the quality of Physics Teaching and Physics Teachers of the state. We are on move to launch science education programme KERALA PHYSICS CONGRESS for meeting the challenges of the changing scenarios in the field of Physical Science. We strongly believe that efficient students are not born, but are trained. Thus giving chance to everyone who has a fire in them to become a different one in true sense



About the Program

The Physics Congress is intended to be held every year. The conference focuses on the Higher Secondary scence students and Teachers of the state. The aim of the programme is to provide an outstanding opportunity for students and teachers to learn a broad range of Physics topics, and initiate interactions with eminent personalities in the area of Physical Science. Further more it will foster communication and exchange of ideas among students and teachers of various backgrounds and interests. With an anticipated attendance of over 200 delegates, the congress is the most diverse professional meeting in the Higher Seondary Physics Calender and represents an important occasion for the community keep up to date with breakthrough developments from around the world.



Preliminary Themes for Students

★ Seminars ★ Face to face ★ Study by doing ★ Sky watch
★ Career Guidance ★ Research opportunities

November 11

9 AM: Registration

9.30 AM: Inaugural Ceremony

Inauguration: Shri. Santhosh Kumar M (Higher Secondary Regional Deputy Director Kozhikode)

Session 1 (10.15 am - 11.15 am)

Keynote Address

Dr. Anand Narayanan

(Professor,Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology - IIST) Trivandrum

Topic: Extra Solar Planets & the Search for Life in the Universe

Tea Break

Session 2(11.30am - 1pm)

A journey through Newtonian Mechanics

Dr.Sethumadhavan

(Former HOD, Dept of Physics, SN College Chellannur)

Lunch Break

Session 3 (2pm - 3pm)

Quantum Computing-An Introduction to next Generation Computing

Dr. R K Sunil Kumar

(Assistant Professor, Department of Information Technology Kannur University)

Session 4 (3pm - 4.30pm)

Waves of Information

Dr. B Premiet

(Prof & Head (Rtd.) TKM College of Engineering, Kollam)

Tea Break

5 pm Local Trip

Session 6 (7pm - 9pm)

Astronomy & Astrophysics (Session followed by skywatch)

Prof. K Pappooty

(Former HOD, Dept of Physics, Govt. College, Madappally)

Shri. Naseef Mohammed PN

(Assistant Professor, Dept of Physics, Frook College)

Dinner

November 12

8 am Cultural Programmes

Session 7 (8.30 am - 10am)

Exciting World of Experimental Physics

Shri. Midhun Shah (HOD Dept of Physics, Farook College)

Dr. P N Musfir

(Asst. Professor, Farook College)

Shri. Anaswalih P K (Asst. Professor, Farook College)

Session 8 (10am - 11.15am)

Photonics & its Applications (with demonstrations)

Dr. VPN Nampoori (Emeritus professor (retd) international centre for photonics, CUSAT)

Session 9 (parallel session) (10.30 am to 12 pm)

Gravity: Concepts and misconcepts

Dr.Titus K Mathews

(Associate Professor, Dept. Of Phyics CUSAT)

Session 10 (11.30am - 1pm)

Research in Science

Dr. Anoop KK

(Assistant Professor, Dept of Physics CUSAT)

Lunch Break

2 pm

Valedictory Function

Chief Guest Dr. MK Jayaraj (Hon. Vice Chancellor, University of Calicut)

Patrons

Shri.Santhosh Kumar M

(Regional Deputy Director, HSE Kozhikode)

Janab PKAhamed

(President, Farook College Management Committee)

Shri. Saiee Mathew

(President, Association of Physics Teachers)

Janab K V Kunhammed Kova

(Secretary, Farook College Management Committee)

Janab C P Kunhimohammed

(Manager, Farook College)

Janab Kunhalavi Sahib

(Manager, Farook Higher Secondary School)

General Convener

Dr. KA Ayisha Swapna (Principal, Farook College)

Joint Conveners

Shri. K Hazim

(Principal, Farook HSS)

Shri. Midhun Shah

(HOD, Dept. Of Physics, Farook College)

Shri.Muhammed Yoonus K

(Treasurer, Association of Physics Teachers)

Shri. Muhammed labal

(Head Master, Farook HS)

Shri. Ashrafali Panali

(Zonal Coordinator, Association of Physics Teachers)



Programme Convener

Shri.Anil Kumar TK

(Secretary,

Association of Physics Teachers)

Programme Coordinator

Shri.K P Sudheer Babu

(Former Secretary, Association of Physics Teachers)

Organizing Committee

Shri.Prajeesh T Thathoth

(Vice President, APT)

Smt.Sheeja Chandran (Vice President, APT)

Shri.Shanavas

(PTA President, Farook HSS)

Shri.Sumith P

(Joint Secretary, APT)

Smt.Archana N

(Joint Secretary, APT)

Shri. K K Alikutty

(Staff Secretary, Farook HSS)

Food & Accommodation will be provided

More details: Anil Kumar TK Convener Kerala Physics Congress-2023 Mob: 9539 858 520